Statutory Holidays in Quebec (QC)


In Quebec National Day, or St. John the Baptist Day is celebrated on June 24.

National Patriots' Day coincides with Victoria Day while Midsummer concides with Quebec National Day.

Either Good Friday or Easter Monday must be given by employers as a statutory holiday, however most give both days off.

Remembrance Day and Boxing Day are not statutory holidays in Quebec, nor is there a Civic Holiday in August.

The Construction Holiday takes place during the later half of July for the construction industry. Many Quebec'ers tend to arrange their vacations around this date as well.


Following are the national and provincial holidays for the province of Quebec.


Quebec Holidays 2010 2011 2012

New Year's Day
January 1

Fri Jan 1, 2010 Sat Jan 1, 2011 Sun January 1, 2012
Good Friday *
Friday Before Easter Sunday
Fri April 2, 2010 Fri Apr 22, 2011 Fri April 6, 2012
Easter Monday *
Monday after Good Friday
Mon April 5, 2010 Mon Apr 25, 2011 Mon April 9, 2012
National Holiday of Quebec /
Fête nationale du Québec
Monday Before May 25
Thurs June 24, 2010 Fri June 24, 2011 Sun June 24, 2012
National Patriots' Day /
Journée nationale des patriotes
Monday Before May 25
Mon May 24, 2010 Mon May 23, 2011 Mon May 21, 2012
Canada Day
July 1 or 2nd If Falls on Sunday
Thurs July 1, 2010 Fri July 1, 2011 Mon July 2, 2012

Construction Holiday /
Vacances de la construction

Last 2 weeks of July Last 2 weeks of July Last 2 weeks of July
Labour Day
First Monday
of September
Mon Sept 6, 2010 Mon Sept 5, 2011 Mon September 3, 2012
Thanksgiving
L'Action de grâce
Second Monday of October
Mon Oct 11, 2010 Mon Oct 10, 2011 Mon October 8, 2012
Remembrance Day * Thurs Nov 11, 2010
Fri Nov 11, 2011
Sun November 11, 2012
Christmas Day
Sat Dec 25, 2010
Sun Dec 25, 2011
Tuesday December 25, 2012
Boxing Day *
December 26
Sun Dec 26, 2010 Mon Dec 26, 2011 Wednesday December 26, 2012


Share |